Tempered Minimalism

For the past few years, I’ve bought into the minimalism theory. Seeing a lack of clutter throughout one’s home does give a good amount of satisfaction. The good that came out of it for our family was that we got rid of a lot of stuff that we no longer had any use for, and were able to reclaim drawer, closet, cabinet, and storage space. We also gave Goodwill a boost.

But lately I’ve not been able to shake the goth out of my life. As evidenced by the resurrection of this blog, I’ve given in to that aspect of my personality or psyche. So I’ve been looking around at the house, and realized I had a whole slew of goth decor just sitting in boxes and closets. One thing that hippies, goths, and bohemians have in common is a love of kitschy decor. To some, that decor equates to clutter. The thing is, we like our odd, goth, bohemian decor.

Obviously, it’s tougher to clean when you have lots of stuff, but we’ve decided that the effort is worth it. So over the past few days, I’ve been pulling things out of purgatory, and putting them on display.

Ultimately, you have to be who you are, and live how it makes you happy. I love how minimalism showed me how to clean out the useless clutter, of having things where they didn’t belong. I like having reclaimed space taken up by stuff we no longer used or needed. But we’ve decided to draw the line at our eclectic, bohemian, hippie, goth, sometimes Moroccan, spooky, witchy, candlelit decor.

Darkest blessings!

Author: Patchouli Autumn

Adult male Pagan & eclectic Wiccan. I began on this path in 2004, when I was just over 40 years of age. Always late to the party! I've explored other witchcraft paths over the years, tried some on for fit, yet always found myself returning to Wicca. I'm mostly hippie with some goth tendencies and tastes. I'm happily married, have 4 grandkids, who are just awesome. Formerly really big consumers, always wanting more, we are not leading a simple life, staying as green as we can.

2 thoughts on “Tempered Minimalism”

  1. I like to see minimalistic homes but in the end my cave needs to be cluttered with bats, bones, webs and glitter (eh, losing goth points here I know…) would like to see more home decor posts 🙂

    1. I love to read articles about gothic home decor. Sadly, they are fairly rare. Lots of articles about teens painting their room black.. I still belong to a Yahoo group called A Gothic Decor. It was fairly popular when I joined in 2007. I took a look at it before I wrote this, and there has been nearly no activity in the past 6 years. Most people like light & airy, so gothic decor gets pushed aside a lot. When we had our home repainted about 8 years ago, we went really goth. Not a white wall in sight. Burgundy, navy blue, gothic rose, red, gold, hunter greens. The painters were wary at first, but really liked the outcome. They did make some good suggestions that we followed along the way. Let me tell you, it took 4 coats of burgundy to cover a white wall! I will try to post more stuff about gothic decor in the future. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

